BOOK REVIEW: ABIGAIL IS NOT A BITCH by CHIDINMA S. ONUOHA

bookreview.img

Leadership lessons from the wife of a fool.

Abigail is put in precarious position by Nabal her husband and David- the warrior, what actions does she take and do these actions make her a BITCH?

This book was written by Chidinma S, Onuoha and is based on a bible story. It was kind of shocking for me in a good way after reading the first few pages to find out that this was a Christian book because it made me curious, I didn’t initially realize that Abigail was the one from the bible and like the author wrote the word BITCH is not the type of word you find in Christian books. I like that she addressed the popular issue of patriarchy in religion, a lot of people use religion and the whole “wives be submissive to your husbands” quote  from the bible to oppress women and I say people above because not only men but women do it to other women too.

I like that Chidinma made it clear that every woman’s situation wouldn’t be the same and that the term “fool” is relative even though it was used literally in this book. She gave principles that could be applied no matter the situation. It was amazing how each principle could be used in both personal and professional situations. My personal favorites were how to apply “discretion” and “humility in leadership” all under the last chapter titled diplomatic.

 My only reservation about this book is not that the issue the author wrote on wasn’t well addressed but because it could have been done in less than 333 pages, it was very repetitive and that made the book a bore read, I struggled to finish this book because I scrolled to a page and I thought I had mistakenly gone back to a previous chapter, I understand the need for emphasis but it made it seem like she was moving in circles instead of going straight to the point. The arrangement of the chapters was so confusing I felt like I read more than one chapter in a chapter because of the numerous subheadings.

Some of my favorite quotes from the book were;

Docility is not a biblical strategy; todays women should always think intelligently about how they can overcome the challenges of their personal or professional lives and act diligently

She understood the biblical expressions about fools and knew that Nabal would not be a different fool

“I am speaking to those Bible-believing women whose situations don’t match the pictures God created for them in His word

I would recommend this book to bible believing women who feel like God/the bible isn’t on their side because of how their pastors, relatives, friends have interpreted the bible to them when they needed advice and comfort and women who want to walk in the light of the scriptures. This is also for women who are married to or dating “fools”, women who are abused whether physically or mentally. This is a book that lifts the spirits and gives women a way to be free.